Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Famous Retired WWE Champions You Should Know!

Retired WWE Champions

There are multiple championship prospects for wrestlers to chase at a time when the WWE roster is perhaps at its most skilled in history. Wrestlers can utilize championships to enhance their careers by competing for titles in men’s, women’s, tag teams, and continental categories. The United States Championship is giving talents like Apollo a run, while Drake Maverick has had a career renaissance during his fight for the NXT Cruiserweight Championship.

However, due to WWE’s extensive history, a number of titles have been introduced and deactivated over the years. Occasionally, WWE may launch a division, but interest will wane, and the Championship will be abandoned. Have you heard of the World Wrestling Entertainment Junior Heavyweight Championship? Or the Tag Team Championship of the United States? They used to exist, but they were finally disbanded.

Retired WWE Champions

The WWE Championship is a professional wrestling global heavyweight championship held by WWE, which is presently broadcast on the Raw brand. The World Wide Wrestling Federation (WWWF) World Heavyweight Championship was the first world championship established in WWE, having been debuted in 1963 as the World Wide Wrestling Federation (WWWF) World Heavyweight Championship. In 1979, the company was renamed the World Wrestling Federation (WWF), and its association with the National Wrestling Alliance (NWA) dissolved in 1983, with the championship likewise changed to reflect the changes. Following the WWF’s acquisition of World Championship Wrestling (WCW), it was combined with the World Championship (previously the WCW World Heavyweight Championship) in 2001 and became the Undisputed WWF Championship.

Buddy Rogers

Retired WWE Champions

Buddy Rogers (February 20, 1921 – June 26, 1992), best known as “Nature Boy” Buddy Rogers, was an American professional wrestler who was one of the top professional wrestling performers at the dawn of the television era. His performances impacted subsequent professional wrestlers, especially “Nature Boy” Ric Flair, who adopted Rogers’ nickname as well as his appearance, attitude, and finishing hold, the figure-four leglock.

Rogers was a thirteen-time world champion, most notably holding the top title in both the NWA and the WWWF, which is now known as WWE (he was the inaugural WWWF World Heavyweight Champion). Along with Ric Flair and AJ Styles, he is one of only three guys in history to have held both belts.

MUST-READ: Upcoming UFC Matches In 2022 That One Should Know!

Bruno Sammartino

Retired WWE Champions

Bruno Leopoldo Francesco Sammartino (October 6, 1935 – April 18, 2018) was an American professional wrestler of Italian descent, best remembered for his stint with the World Wrestling Federation (WWWF, now WWE). He held the WWWF World Heavyweight Championship (WWWF Heavyweight Championship during his second reign) for more than 11 years (4,040 days) throughout two reigns, the first of which is the promotion’s longest single reign at 2,803 days. In all, he is a two-time world champion in professional wrestling.

Ivan Koloff

Ivan Koloff (born Oreal Donald Perras on August 25, 1942 – February 18, 2017) was a Canadian professional wrestler best remembered for becoming the third wrestler to capture the WWWF Championship.

Koloff returned to the ring for the first time in ten years in 2004. He competed on the independent wrestling circuit. Koloff beat Dominic DeNucci in a Russian chain match at WrestleReunion on August 27, 2005. Koloff would win his final wrestling championship at NWA Charlotte, defeating The Barbarian in a Russian chain battle for the Legends title. Koloff was defeated by Shane Douglas in an Extreme Rules battle at Mega Pro on July 19, 2013. His final bout was against Bob Armstrong on November 16, 2013 at Superstars of Wrestling 1 in Rome, Georgia, which Armstrong won.

Pedro Morales

Pedro Antonio Morales (October 22, 1942 – February 12, 2019) was a professional wrestler from Puerto Rico. He is most known in the United States for his performances with Worldwide Wrestling Associates (WWA) and the World Wide Wrestling Federation (WWWF).

Morales made his debut in 1959 and rose to fame with the WWA in the 1960s when he held the World Heavyweight Championship and the World Tag Team Championship. He joined the WWWF in 1970 and went on to capture the World Heavyweight Championship and the United States Championship. During a second stint with the World Wrestling Federation (WWF) in the 1980s, he won the Intercontinental Heavyweight Championship and the Tag Team Championship, becoming the promotion’s first Triple Crown Champion. In 1987, he announced his retirement from professional wrestling.

Morales made his final in-ring appearance as a professional wrestler on November 16, 1987, when he competed in a battle royale.

ALSO READ: All About UFC This Weekend ! Click To Know

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Soccer is a contact sport and has always been a contact sport since its inception, even if the game’s beginnings contain acts of extreme...


WWE is an American sports entertainment company headquartered inConnecticut, USA. It promotes professional wrestling, which is different fromOlympic or combat-based wrestling since the outcomes...


During the Ruthless Aggression period, Rey Mysterio was a well-known and successful WWE Superstar. While he began his career as a cruiserweight, his tremendous...


SummerSlam is recognized as WWE’s most important summer event. The countdown for one of the biggest WWE pay-per-view events began after the success of...